Page not found. Shorter University Shorter crowns three champions at Patriot Open

Shorter crowns three champions at Patriot Open

Shorter crowns three champions at Patriot Open

By James Vallone

WILLIAMSBURG, Ky. -- The Shorter Hawks were able to visit the Patriot Open and take three championships, along with a fourth place finish.

In the 141-pound weight class, Brandon Dyer had a first round victory over Paul Bustamante (MMI) before Calob Perkins (Cumberlands) was able to get the 11-4 decision in the second round. Dyer fought back though the bracket with a 2-1 decision over Joseph Hulen (Truett-McConnell), and a 5-0 decision over Mason Saitman (Cumberlands) before Dontavious Gardenhire (Central Baptist) retired due to forfeit; setting up the rematch with Perkins. Dyer was able to win in the rematch, claiming the 7-6 decision. Colby Rinehart (Campbellsville) would defeat Dyer in the third place match.

In a competitive 157-pound bracket, Shorter would advance the two finalists; T.J. Duncan and Gabriel Bird would be a crowned co-champion of the weight class. Bird would win the first two matches with one-point decisions over Gerald Contreras (Lindsey Wilson) and Shelby Floyd (Campbellsville) before winning by Fall against Donald Jordan (MMI). Bird would defeat Oliver Brukardt (Life University) with another one-point victory in the semi-finals.

Duncan would win his first round match by one-point against William Burns (MMI), before defeating Cullen Frazier (Central Baptist) in the second round. Duncan would beat the third-seed Jacob Stephens (Cumberlands) with a 10-3 decision before eliminating Javier Arellano (Cumberlands) in the semi-finals.

Duncan and Bird would be named as co-champions.

In the heavyweight division, Chris Rowland improved on his runner-up finish last week to take the top finishing honors this time out. As the second seed Rowland was reward with a first round bye, before he beat Tommie Turner (Darton College) by decision in the second round. Rowland would claim the championship by advancing via decisions over Tyler Smith (Cumberland), Marlen Morgan (MMI), and Joseph Gallegos (Cumberland) in the finals.

Next up for the Shorter wrestling program is the UCF Open this upcoming weekend in Orlando.

View: Mobile | Desktop